the day the world ended

Abuja, 11:48am

NEWS FLASH: People run for safety as rocks and mountains crumble

Lagos, 11:48am

NEWS FLASH: Residents of the Lagos Island stranded as Eko bridge collapses!

Sokoto, 11:48am

NEWS FLASH: Sand from the Sahara desert pours into the state in large quantities.

Delta, 11: 48am

NEWS FLASH: River Niger has carried fishing settlements along its banks to an unknown destination

U.S.A, 11: 48am

NEWS FLASH: All signals cut off from the U.S.A satellites. Scientists battle to return signal

China, 11:48am

NEWS FLASH: Chinese scholars gather to retrieve their ‘lost’ internet

My house, 12:00am

“Jessica! Renita!! Roy!!! All of you should come here and let us pray”. My mother and prayers! She wants me to leave my computer and the television. IF the world doesn’t end today, I’d like to have an up to date version of the story. Shit! Why is this page not reloading? What does this web page mean by service not found? MTN, please now, you have been very efficient. Aha! My BIS is still on…… thank you etisalat. Coming mom!!! Let’s get this over with. I still have to get to the beach. If the world is going to end, I have to be in the place I love the most. There’s also that rumor that I have to confirm.

“Amen… I love you too mummy. Don’t panic, everything will be fine. Yes, I am still going to the beach. Roy, you can’t follow me. You’d be a burden and you know mummy wants to be with you. Ok mum, I’d be careful. Thank you”

*Phew* I better hurry. Everything is happening too fast…. The Eiffel tower and stature of liberty have both fallen. They even fell before the great walls of China. This trended on twitter….. The walls of China were more original than the French products. lol. Streaming the videos of volcanic mountains erupting was scary and I still wonder who was filming it. I’m sure it was an overzealous reporter who should be long dead now. Stupid fowl.

Arrgh!!! So people are as stupid as I am……the beach is freaking full. Thank God my house is close. I wonder where the people I can see running are running to. I must see what everyone; I mean the few people on twitter are ranting about. I want to know if the water has really disappeared. If it has, where did it go? I was here just yesterday.

Finally, I can see and I am lost for words.

15:02pm PM: OMG!!! This is freaking unbelievable!

15:03pm: Aproko geh changed her display picture.

15:03pm: @aprokogeh: wow! It’s true….the beach has disappeared http://hkldjlkhlfehlihlks (view pic)

15:10pm: @aprokogeh: I am standing on where the beach used to stand. lol http://kshfsiugwg (view pic)

15:20pm: @aprokogeh RT @sokotobabe: we can’t breathe! The air is fucking gritty!!!

15:23pm: @aprokogeh: Where’s @sokotobabe and @21:12:12informant?

15:59pm: @aprokogeh: I’m getting scared….. Where’s everyone on my TL?

I am scared….. This should be the perfect time to pray. ‘Dear Lord, forgive me for not taking you seriously. If I die, please accept my soul’ what is that sound??? Now, everyone is running. My mother! Oh, my mother. Did I tell her how much I appreciate everything she’s done for me? I don’t think so. I must tell her, yes I must. My legs should please move faster. Now what? Why are people shouting? Oh my God! It’s not possible, I mean, it is but what the hell? How the hell? Where is the water coming from? I thought it just left. Oh great! Rain!!! What next?

Thank God I got home safe. Where’s everybody? “yes mum, it’s me. Where are you guys? Oh, ok…..I’m coming”. Thank God for the attic that daddy stubbornly put. Now I know that he didn’t pay the fine for nothing. There they are……….. thank you Lord. “I love you mummy and I’m grateful my siblings and I have you. I’m sorry for all the hurtful things I said to you. I promise to be better if we survive this”.

From the window I can see the water gathering, it went for harvesting and it has come back with a lot of goodies. I see ships, houses…. What the hell! Is that an island? Wait, why is the sky looking funny? It can’t be. It’s not possible!!! The sky is actually falling on the water.  The light is blinding! It is night already but it’s brighter than it has ever been on earth. Yes, we are going to die……. This is the end. “I love you Nat and Roy, you guys are the bestest siblings I could ever pray for. Don’t cry Roy baby, we’ll be fine. God will keep us”. I notice the smile on my mother’s mouth. She probably thinks it’s the worst time to accept God but she’s glad I did. I look at my blackberry, no mobile network. I look up as Nat screams. We all stand and watch in shock as the water pours towards our house and takes us along.

“Merry Christmas baby. May God bring you back to us soon” When I heard this, I knew that we somehow survived the impact. Wait, did mum just say merry Christmas? How did that happen? Just moments ago, it was 12:12:12. I forced my eyes open to no avail but succeeded in lifting a finger which my brother saw and shouted for joy.

When I opened my eyes, I saw everyone I loved around me with expectant faces. I smiled when they all wanted to talk and touch me at the same time. My head was banging and I was given some tranquilizers. I asked them how we managed to escape the water and they all looked at me in confusion.

My mother explained that went to the beach with my friends and decided to swim. I started drowning and by the time my friends pulled me out, I was unconscious. I asked her what date that was and she said, Tuesday the 11th of December. I laughed and told them about my ‘dream’. I couldn’t believe that I had been out for fourteen days. I wasn’t even conscious to witness 12:12:12 which I had been looking forward to see. My mother told me that the only anomaly that happened on that day was that it rained cats and dogs. I laughed so hard that everyone thought I had lost it. After all my preparations for 12:12:12 I missed it. Even my sub-conscious knew I was very interested in that date and played a huge prank on me.

I made sure I told my mother how much I love and appreciated her. I also made a mental note to take my religious beliefs more seriously. I will see a new year, everyone I love is fine and my darling earth is safe. Up yours mayan calendar and scientists. My God created the world and not your sciences.

HAPPY HOLIDAYS WORLD………. Let’s do new things.

About shughar

My name is Patrick Jennifer.............. Talkative extraordinaire (aspiring OAP), Professional 'carer', Wanna-be writer, and I am sweetness personified.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to the day the world ended

  1. Juke says:

    I LOVE THIS!!! LOOOOOOOOVE! HAHAHAHAHA!!!! :* :*

    Like

  2. kokoboii says:

    Nice…..happy 12/12/12…..#Bless

    Like

  3. sirkastick says:

    Oooooh *dancing around naked* this is utterly brilliant, not enough words to qualify dis… Suspense intrigue all present, that’s it! I’m writing mine (˘̯˘ ) ..wonderful (Y)

    Like

  4. Ezinna says:

    *sigh* ….. What if the world actually ends 12.12.12 ??? It’ll be amusing huh?! Hehehe very creative writing hmmmm *thinking*

    Like

  5. Arnytah says:

    Wow…great story!!!me likey…d world aint endn 2day sha..

    Like

  6. Patrick says:

    we need to live in peace amidst this troubles

    Like

  7. papilo says:

    For all y’all that dont go to church am sure had trouble reading this piece. Lol. No dey form for God oh!!! For me,this piece is too Shughary *winksFor all y’all that dont go to church am sure had trouble reading this piece. Lol. No dey form for God oh!!! For me,this piece is too Shughary *winksFor all y’all that dont go to church am sure had trouble reading this piece. Lol. No dey form for God oh!!! For me,this piece is too Shughary *winksFor all y’all that dont go to church am sure had trouble reading this piece. Lol. No dey form for God oh!!! For me,this piece is too Shughary *winks*

    Like

  8. Anonymous says:

    Shey dem tink say dem fit end d world ni?

    Like

  9. yemzine says:

    Sugar, may God continue to bless your brain for me.. nice write up yet again

    Like

  10. Anonymous says:

    Lol…Nice piece there luv!!I like it….u r now a rapper too…rhyming things.’Scientists’…’Sciences’

    Like

  11. Allor says:

    That was a masterpıece… Nıce work… Wot where u nw doın wıt Agr….???

    Like

  12. dave says:

    Great writin hun…d renita name tho.lol kip it up.

    Like

  13. chineloawa says:

    Remember your twinnie when the awards start coming in. I loved this piece. A nice play on the 12/12/12 cease 😀

    Like

  14. chineloawa says:

    You should call it the day the world ended 😉

    Like

  15. Jessica's Masked Stalker. says:

    Niiiice! I like your imagination.Vivid pictures painted. Great story-telling. Really nice!

    Like

  16. theshaione says:

    The character should have jus’ died o. I love those kinds better….

    Like

Kindly show a sister some love and comment..............tnx :*

